Happy New Year! Many state laws and local ordinances provided for an increase in minimum wage effective January 1, 2012. Make sure you are complying with these increases for any employees who work for you in the following states or locales:

  • Arizona : Minimum wage increases from $7.35 to $7.65 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.35 to $4.65 an hour.
  • Colorado : Minimum wage increases from $7.36 to $7.64 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.34 to $4.62 an hour.
  • Florida : Minimum wage increases from $7.31 to $7.67 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.29 to $4.65 an hour.
  • Montana : Minimum wage increases from $7.35 to $7.65 an hour. (Montana state law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)
  • Ohio : Minimum wage increases from $7.40 to $7.70 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $3.70 to $3.85 an hour.
  • Oregon : Minimum wage increases from $8.50 to $8.80 an hour. (Oregon state law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)
  • Vermont : Minimum wage increases from $8.15 to $8.46 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $3.95 to $4.10 an hour.
  • Washington : Minimum wage increases from $8.67 to $9.04 an hour. (Washington state law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)
  • San Francisco : Minimum wage increases from $9.92 to $10.24 an hour.